The Otoe-Missouria Tribe

The Otoe-Missouria Tribe


The Tribal Council is the elected governing body of the Otoe-Missouria Tribe. The primary duties of the Tribal Council are to enforce the Tribal Laws and Policies and to serve as the decision-making authority on budgets and investments. The Tribal Council is also the parent body for the Tribal Administration. Overall, the Tribal Administration ensures that services, as decided by the Tribal Council, are provided to Tribal Members.

The Tribal Council consists of a seven members elected by secret ballot by qualified voters of the Tribe. The terms for each member are staggered and last for three years. There are no term limits. Each Tribal Council member has responsibilities for certain duties as listed in the Otoe-Missouria Tribe of Indians Constitution.

The Council holds regular meetings monthly in a place and date determined by the members. Currently the meetings are held in the Council Building at tribal headquarters. And are open to the public, except when the Council is in Executive Session.

CouncilMember NameEnding Term of Office
Chairman John R. Shotton November 2022
Vice-Chairman Ted Grant November 2021
Secretary Darrell Kihega November 2022
Treasurer Courtney Burgess November 2021
First Member Wesley J. Hudson November 2022
Second Member Myra Pickering November 2022
Third Member Alvin Moore November 2021