The Otoe-Missouria Tribe

The Otoe-Missouria Tribe

Tribal Council Members Take Oath of Office

By Heather Payne, Otoe-Missouria Public Affairs Office on November 15, 2019

The Otoe-Missouria Tribal Council is from left to right: First Member Wesley Hudson, Second Member Myra Pickering, Vice Chairman Ted Grant, Chairman John Shotton, Secretary Darrell Kihega, Treasurer Courtney Burgess, Third Member Alvin Moore. Chairman Shotton, Secretary Kihega, First Member Hudson were all re-elected to office at the November 2 election. Second Member Pickering was elected against incumbent Melanie Harader. Council members hold three year terms of office.


RED ROCK, Okla.— The newly elected members of the Otoe-Missouria Tribal Council took the oath of office on Friday, November 15 at the historic old agency in Red Rock.

In the November 2, 2019 election, Chairman John R. Shotton, Secretary Darrell Kihega and First Member Wesley J. Hudson were all re-elected to office and the position of Second Member was won by Myra Pickering. 

Chairman Shotton won his race with 78.57% of the votes against challenger Freeman Marlow. Secretary Kihega maintained his position with 65.44% of the votes against Lisa Black-Porter. And incumbent First Member Hudson retained his office with 60.73% of the vote against duel challengers Anthony Burris and Arlen Lightfoot. Newly installed Second Member Myra Pickering was elected with 63.79% of the votes against incumbent Melanie Harader.

The Otoe-Missouria Tribal Council is run by a seven-member Tribal Council who hold three-year terms. The offices of Vice Chairman, Treasurer and Third Member were elected in 2018.

Of the 2,517 registered voters, 18.63% voted in the recent election with a 56% of the votes were cast in-person at the tribal complex and 44% of the votes were by absentee ballot. 

New tribal election board members Linda Francis, Elsie Whitehorn, Cory DeRoin-Little Wounded, Melea Hoffman were also elected to office by a quorum of eligible tribal members at the Annual General Council Meeting. Together, the election board is charged with the duty of conducting all tribal elections and the Annual General Council Meeting. 

The Otoe-Missouria Tribe has more than 3,300 members located throughout the United States. The tribe was relocated from Nebraska to Indian Territory in 1881. Today, they are one of the largest employers in Kay and Noble County with five casinos, two convenience stores and gas stations, a drive-thru smoke shop, propane company, financial services, hotel, entertainment centers, cattle ranch and indoor water park.